EA Hotel Joseph 1699
|Mon 14/0 °C||Tue 14/0 °C|
The Jewish Quarter of Trebic together with the Jewish Cemetery was placed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2003
The Jewish Quarter of Trebic, placed on the prestigious UNESCO World Heritage List on 3rd July 2003, is a unique document of Jewish culture in Moravia and the only Jewish monument outside Israel specifically placed on the UNESCO List. The unique Jewish quarter with dense housing, narrow isles, dark corners, vaulted passages and romantic little squares, includes more than 120 residential houses. Besides them there have been preserved the buildings of the former Jewish institutions – e.g. the Town Hall, the school, the rabbinate and the poorhouse.
Today, no original population is available in the former Jewish Quarter. Therefore, many buildings, such as the town hall or rabbi´s office do not serve their original purpose any more. You can visit the quarter any time, following the marked tourist trail, where you find many interesting sights together with brief notes about their history in English, German and Czech languages.
The synagogue, also known as "New", dates from 1669. The visitors usually appreciate the mural paintings in its interior dating from the early 18th century. A permanent exhibition of Jewish culture is situated in the former women´s gallery of the synagogue. It displays many valuable objects used in secular and religious life of the former Jewish community. Futhermore visitors can admire the interactive model of the Jewish city which speaks 6 languages. The Rear Synagogue is open to public daily.
St. Procopius Basilica
The abbot´s church, initially dedicated to Virgin Mary, was built in the early 13th century as a part of the Benedictine Monastery founded in 1101 by the Moravian Przemyslides. The rich monastery kept its strong position until the Hussite Wars, when it was stormed by the Hungarian Army in 1468. Later it was rebuilt into an aristocratic palace and possessed by the Valdstejn House from the early 17th century until its confiscation in 1945.
The original Jewish cemetery was relocated in the 17th century behind the town, over the Tynsky Brook, to the northern slope of the Hrádek Hill. With its size of almost twelve thousand square metres it ranks among the largest Jewish cemeteries in the country. Around 3000 tombstones, the eldest of which dates back to 1625, are situated in a beautiful park with tall trees and mysterious atmosphere. The cemetery includes some valuable stones of Baroque and neo-Classical type and the Ceremonial Hall from 1903 with uniquely preserved interiors.
A number of important persons are buried here, such as the rabbis Pollak, both father and son. Funeral ceremonies have been taking place here still according to the old Jewish tradition. The cemetery, which is one of the most important and the best maintained Jewish cemeteries in Moravia, is rightly protected as a national cultural monument of the Czech Republic.
The museum in the manor with an exhibition of Moravian moldavites, rocks, minerals, pipes, Christmas cribs from Třebíč and folk art from the highlands. The West-Moravian Museum houses a lot of interesting exhibits. Dating from the oldest prehistoric times there is a unique and at the European level very special instrument in the museum: a crystal blade found near Mohelno that comes from the Paleolithic culture named szeletien (39 000-35 000BC).
The transitional period between the late Neolithic and the early Eneolithic is represented by two unique human-representing ceramic statuettes, coming from the Morava-based culture of makers of painted ceramics. The first of the two statuettes is the well-known Stepanovicka Venuse (The Stepanovice Idol) found in Stepanovice, a location once settled by this culture (4000 BC).
The Early Bronze Age is represented by a bronze dagger of Italian origin from the beginning of the second millennium BC found in the River Jihlava near Trebic. The Middle Ages are characteristic of impressive two-handed swords, frequently taller than the knight himself, several of which are on view in the West-Moravian Museum. A real highlight of the museum collections is the moving Nativity Scene made by Mr. Josef Cincera (1865-1942) with statuettes carved from wood in the early 20th century.
The City Tower of St. Martin's Church was originally built as part of the city's defensive walls. First written mentions of the tower go back to the early fifteenth century when the construction of the tower was completed in the level of the present-day gallery. The incursion of the troops of the King of Hungary Mathias Korvin in 1468 spelt a disaster for the city, destroying, among many other things, the upper part of the tower.
The tower originally stood separate from St. Martin's Church but in 1716 the two buildings were connected. Over the following centuries the tower was damaged several times by windstorms and fires, which prompted further partial changes in its construction. One of the most destructive was the fire in 1822 which left in ashes over half of the city, not sparing the tower either. The scale of destruction of the part of the tower above its gallery was such that it eventually collapsed. Because of lack of money the tower was given only a low pyramid-shaped roof.
In 1862 City Hall initiated a thorough restoration of the tower, basically giving it the looks it has today. The major restoration was done in 1996-1997. The height of the tower from ground level to the top of the cross is 75m. Its ground plan has the dimensions 11.5m x 11.5m. Its gallery is 35m above ground level, the cross above the cupola is 4m tall and can turn around by the force of the wind. According to available information, the dimensions of the tower clock (its face has 5.5m in diameter with numbers as high as 60cm) put it in first place in Europe.